The Most Anticipated Books Coming in 2021 and Why You Should Read Them

Beautiful World, Where Are You – Sally Rooney



Sally Roony’s previous 2 books, Conversations with Friends, and Normal People were both critically acclaimed New York times bestsellers. These 2 books feature average people navigating complex relationships and the experiences of their young lives. Much like her other books, Beautiful World,Where Are You will follow Alice, a young novelist who meets Felix, and they travel to Rome together. Back home in Dublin, Alice’s best friend is struggling with a breakup and is starting to slip back into old habits. The story line seems simple, but Sally Roony has proven in the past her ability to make you understand, respect, and love all her characters despite their flaws and misgivings. Her books explore deeper themes like social class and relationship health under the pretext of a simple storyline. Beautiful World, Where Are You is expected to be published around September 7th of 2021.


Chlorine Sky – Mahogany L. Browne



This novel has already been released this January and is available today. The story is told in verse and is extremely fast moving with only 200 pages. The novel follows the story of a young girl struggling with living outside of the shadows of others and accepting life for what it is. Novels like this challenge the idea of what YA (young adult) fiction is meant to be. This is an incredible read all the way through.



The Doctors Blackwell – Janice P. Nimura


This historically accurate story telling has just come out this January. Critics are raving about the historical accuracy and relevancy. This story takes us along the lives of the two Blackwell sisters, the first women ever to receive a M.D.. It touches on a lot of what is going on in their world as women in the early 19th century. It focuses on not only the trials and tribulations of medical school, but also how they were able to open their own clinic afterword. Navigating a male dominated industry is still a struggle that women face today, and this sheds a light on the stories behind the women that paved the way for females in professionalism. This story is about the sisters' friendships, rivals, partnerships, and challenges. It follows the girls from New York to Bristol, to Paris and eventually to Edenborough. With lively backdrops and visionary characters this book is perfect for anyone interested in non-fiction, or anything featuring strong female protagonists.


The Desolations of Devils Acre – Ransom Riggs



The Sixth book of the Mrs. Peregrines Peculiar Children series is due to release on February 23rd. This Series had brought us haunting and exciting story's that follow a group of kids with strange abilities. The story is narrated by a protagonist named Jacob who in the last book managed to escape a time loop made by his friend V and finds himself back in his grandfather's house in Florida. He does not know much, but he knows that his sworn enemy Caul has returned. Jacob must return to the Devils Acre to meet up with the other peculiar children, to try and stop Cals apocalyptic agenda and defeat his army of desolations (evil spirits made of ash blood and bone). This book is for anyone who is a fan of the series. The first three books were New York Times best sellers, and if you have not read them already you should. These books are perfect for any YA fantasy fans, and this next installment could be the best.


One Last Stop – Casey McQuiston


From the author of the beloved Red White and Royal Blue, the next book from them is sure to make you fall in love with the funny, witty, and romantic writing style of Casey McQuiston. The book is due to come out this June. It follows the story of cynical 23-year-old August who comes to the city in order to experience life. August does not want to worry about falling in love or anything foolish. She works at a diner and lives with many roommates in her NYC apartment. She then meets Jane, who has the perfect 70s Rockstar style and seems too good to be true. It turns out that Jane is displaced in time from the 1970s. August is going to have to live everything she has gone through in the past in order to help her regain what she loses in time subway crush. This book receives an A plus for LGBTQ+ representation. Also, the critics with advanced copies are raving. Fans of Red White and Royal Blue or any other witty rom-com will be excited for this book. Casey pitched this book as a queer Katie & Leopold rendition.


Rule of Wolves – Leigh Bardugo



This is the second book in the King of Scars duology, an exciting series that takes us even deeper in to the Grishaverse. These books where written by New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. This book follows 3 different narratives; The young king of Fejerda who is preparing to sacrifice their integrity to win a war; Zoya Nazyalensky who has lost too much to the war; and Nina Zenik, who is deep under cover in the ice court. Fans of either the Shadow and Bone trilogy or the Six of Crows duology will love this next instalment in the series coming March 30th. Fans are also preparing for the release of Shadow and Bone on Netflix this spring.


Let Me Tell You What I Mean – Joan Didion



This book consists of ten pieces from the collected works of the legendary author Joan Didion. This book will cover the 1968 newspaper columns; her relationship with her husband; her working with, then against Nancy Raegan; the American newspaper industry; her being rejected by Stanford; and her take on the WWII reunion of the 101-air force. There is also a piece from 1978 titled “Why I Write”; a piece on Hemmingway from 1998; and a piece on Martha Stewart from 2000. Each one is set to be utterly enticing, stunning and exciting.


The Other Black Girl – Zakiya Dalila Harris


This book is said to be a combination of Get Out and The Devil Wears Prada. The clash begins when 2 black girls meeting on a white dominated book publishing scene of New York City. Niela Rodgers is tired of being the only black employee at an all-white company and is ecstatic when another black girl joins the team. Then a string of extremely uncomfortable events come together. Cryptic notes and messages are left on her desk saying things like “get out” and “seek help.” This debut novel is perfect for anyone interested in a terrifying thriller. The book will be on shelves June 2021.


Written by Cloey Aconley


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Importance of Hearing Health

In the 21st century, playing and streaming music became more popular, and the world saw a rise in headphone usage. Thus, noise-induced hearing loss became a prevalent issue among young adults and teen